World Cup 2021: Indian Women Cricket Team Gets Qualified

By on April 17, 2020 0 162 Views

Amidst the gloomy coronavirus lockdown, here is good news for the cricket lovers in India. The country’s women cricket team has sealed its qualification for the upcoming World Cup 2021.

The announcement was made on Wednesday by the International Cricket Council after it allocated spilt points to India and Pakistan. This came as a result of cancelled India Vs Pakistan series, which was to be held between July and November 2019.

The series was not successful as it could not gain the government clearances due to the frosty relationship between Indian and Pakistan.

Now, as far as stats are concerned, the Indian team has won 10 matches and lost 8 out of the 21 in the ongoing cycle of ICC Women’s Championship.

The Announcement

In its statement, ICC said: “With respect to the India v Pakistan series, the Technical Commitee concluded that the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan, which forms a part of the ICC Women’s Championship,”

After the allocation of points, the Indian team entered the top four with 23 points. Now, India is among five other teams that were selected directly for the World Cup that is scheduled from Feb 6 to Mar 7 in 2021 in New Zealand. Other teams in top four are Australia, South Africa and England.

The BCCI Women also tweeted about the same on their twitter handle:

The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is to be held from July 3 to July 19 in Sri Lanka. However, nothing is certain owing to the rising COVID-19 pandemic. Other 10 teams trying to find a place among the final list include; Sri Lanka, Pakistan, West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland, Thailand, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea, United States of America  and Netherlands.

For more such updates, keep reading

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *